Jason Derulo makes debut rodeo performance

(Last Updated On: March 26, 2016)

Photo credit: Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo / HLSR logo

If you were a Jason Derulo fan, the NRG stadium was the place to be Friday night as the singer kicked off the first rodeo weekend with a strong debut performance.

A crowd of 59,236 rodeo/concert-goers (according to paid box office figures) were on hand for a day of rodeo activities topped off by Derulo’s Black Heritage Day perfomance.

The chart topping artist performed a compilation of his hit songs ranging from the fast-paced “Get Ugly” to the melodic, slower-paced “Trumpets” surrounded by his team of dancers.  During his performance, Derulo left the stage to scout out a Houston “It Girl” from the audience to  join him on the stage as he performed his hit single of the same name.

From his arrival to the show’s end, the singer, who has earned 11 platinum singles to date, brought his vocal ‘A’ game mixed with the dance moves he has become known for by his many fans.

Following Derulo’s performance, Cole Swindell took the stage Saturday night to entertain concert-goers with Shawn Mendes slated to round out the weekend of performances on Sunday night.

Coming week’s concert performances include:

Monday, March 7: Miranda Lambert
Tuesday, March 8: Pitbull
Wednesday, March 9: Brett Eldredge
Thursday, March 10: Luke Bryan (Sold Out)
Friday, March 11: Darius Rucker
Saturday, March 12: Billy Currington
Sunday, March 13 — Go Tejano Day: Los Huracanes Del Norte | Banda Los Recoditos
Monday, March 14: Kenny Chesney
Tuesday, March 15: Kid Rock
Wednesday, March 16: Jake Owen
Thursday, March 17: Florida Georgia Line
Friday, March 18: Little Big Town
Saturday, March 19 — RodeoHouston Super Series Championship: Brad Paisley
Sunday, March 20 — RodeoHouston Super Shootout®, presented by Crown Royal: Keith Urban

For tickets, visit rodeohouston.com/tickets.

Jason Derulo makes debut rodeo performance