Three local students named 2015 Achievement Scholars

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
(Last Updated On: September 2, 2015)

From left: Christopher Brown, ATLF Education Chairman; Jona Sargent, ATLF Vice Chair; Nakiyah Scott, Scholarship Winner; Ethan Lau, Scholarship Winner; Kenneth Williams, Scholarship Winner; Fredric Navarre, ATLF Board Chairman | Photo Credit: Deandre Johnson

Three area students were named 2015 Achievement Scholars by the Achievement Through Leadership Foundation (ATLF).

Nakiyah Scott, Kenneth Williams and Ethan Lau were each awarded 1,000 scholarships at a recent scholarships awards dinner.  The event, themed “Empowering Today’s Scholars to Become Tomorrow’s Leaders” was hosted at Maggiano’s in Houston.

Established in 2005, the Houston-based foundation aims to empower young people in the Greater Houston area by assisting them with higher education and leadership development.

2015 Booker T. Washington High School valedictorian and captain of the drill team, Scott plans to attend Occidental College to pursue a degree in chemical engineering.

Williams, a senior at Ridge Point High School in Fort Bend ISD, is a scholar-athlete who is a 3-year varsity football letterman and attained the distinction of becoming a Boy Scouts of America Eagle Scout. He will attend Texas Tech University to study petroleum engineering.

Lau, a senior at Clements High School in Fort Bend ISD and a National Merit Finalist who attained a perfect score of 36 on the ACT, plans to attend Rice University to major in chemistry.

[gss ids=”15453,15456,15455,15454″]

Lau commended Achievement Through Leadership Foundation for their much-needed support.

“In a time where systems of disadvantage and discrimination are beginning to be torn down, I am so happy that the Achievement Through Leadership Foundation has decided to play a part and work towards bringing higher education to students who may not be as financially well off as others, but still possess the same degree of talent and the desire for knowledge,” said Lau.

Houston Chronicle reporter Cindy George served as keynote speaker for the event and challenged scholarship recipients in her speech “Success is Calling Your Name: Are you ready?”

ATLF Board Chairman Fredric A. Navarre and foundation members secured funding for scholarships through the Foundation’s inaugural Kasino Royale fundraiser, held in February, and the generous donations of supporters.

ATLF board members include Jasmine Belton, Christopher Brown, Kenneth Glover, Sherard Hooper, Annette Moore, Annetra Piper, Jona Sargent, Kimberly Shoaf-Joseph, Richard Spencer, Haroon Taylor and Brian Wright.

For more information on the organization, click here.

Three local students named 2015 Achievement Scholars