ABFF and TruTV announce first-ever Comedy Writers Competition

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
(Last Updated On: April 12, 2018)

The 22nd Annual ABFF Returns to Miami, June 13-17, 2018

New York, April 5, 2018 – The 22nd Annual American Black Film Festival, (ABFF) taking place in Miami, Florida June 13-19, 2018, is thrilled to announce a new talent pipeline program, in partnership with truTV: theABFF® truTV Comedy Writers Competition.

The first-ever ABFF® truTV Comedy Competition is searching for the next generation of comedic voices and will provide a unique opportunity for a content creator to develop a project with truTV. Each competitor will be required to submit a paper-developed half-hour comedic format (1-2 page document), consisting of a logline of the show premise, the type of format, the talent leading the show and the show overview. truTV is a comedy network, so it’s all about leaning into the comedy first.  For inspiration, submitters are encouraged to research existing truTV original programming formats, including Impractical Jokers, Comedy Knockout, Hack My Life and Laff Mobb’s Laff Tracks.

For additional information on these competitions and to submit an application, please visit: www.ABFF.com/about-abff/programming-initiatives/talent-discovery-programs/.

Follow ABFF on its social media platforms:
Twitter           @ABFF
Facebook        American Black Film Festival
Instagram      @AmericanBlackFilmFestival
YouTube        American Black Film Festival
Hashtags        #ABFF18, #WeAreABFF
Website          www.ABFF.com

Sponsors for the 2018 American Black Film Festival are HBO® (Founding and Presenting Sponsor); Greater Miami Convention & Visitors Bureau (Host and Presenting Sponsor); TV One, Cadillac, Comcast NBCUniversal (Presenting Sponsors); BET, Turner (Premier Sponsors); American Airlines, Codeblack Films, MPAA, Verizon (Official Sponsors); Gentleman Jack, LOL Networks, and truTV (Supporting Sponsors); and SAGIndie, Walter Kaitz Foundation (Industry Partners).

ABFF and TruTV announce first-ever Comedy Writers Competition