• March 4, 2024

74th EMMY® Awards Nominations Announced

 74th EMMY® Awards Nominations Announced
Digiqole Ad

Photo credit: The Television Academy

LOS ANGELES, July 12, 2022 – Nominations for the 74th Emmy® Awards were
announced today, recognizing an abundance of exceptional new programming and
talent, returning favorites and veteran performers, and a broad spectrum o
innovative storytelling across multiple platforms.

The live virtual ceremony was hosted by JB Smoove (Curb Your Enthusiasm) and
Melissa Fumero (Brooklyn Nine-Nine) along with Television Academy Chairman
and CEO Frank Scherma.

Succession holds this year’s top spot with 25 Emmy nominations followed by Ted
Lasso and The White Lotus (20), Hacks and Only Murders in the Building (17) and
Euphoria (16).

“Television continues to keep the world entertained, informed, and connected. With
production at a historic high, the Academy has received a record number of Emmy
submissions this season,” said Scherma. “As we prepare for the entertainment
industry’s biggest night, we are thrilled to honor the innovators, creators,
performers and storytellers who are propelling this platinum age of television.”
It was a year of notable achievement for women. Almost half of the directors
nominated in the scripted directing categories were women. This season also saw
women receive almost 40% of the nominations in the scripted writing categories.
Thirty-four percent of this year’s nominees for Outstanding Writing in all writing
categories were women.

In total, there were 50 first-time performer nominees across all performer
categories this season including Chadwick Boseman (What If…?), Jennifer Coolidge
(The White Lotus), Elle Fanning (The Great), Andrew Garfield (Under the Banner of
Heaven), Jung Ho-yeon (Squid Game), Oscar Isaac (Scenes From A Marriage), Lily
James (Pam & Tommy), Lee Jung-jae (Squid Game), Barack Obama (Our Great
National Parks), Sheryl Lee Ralph (Abbott Elementary), Adam Scott (Severance),
Sebastian Stan (Pam & Tommy), Peter Sarsgaard (Dopesick), Amanda Seyfried
(The Dropout), and Sydney Sweeney (two first-time nominations, Euphoria and The
White Lotus).

In addition to Sweeney, individuals with multiple nominations this year include
Jason Bateman (performance and directing for Ozark), Quinta Brunson
(performance and writing for Abbott Elementary), Nicole Byer (host for Nailed It
and writing for Nicole Byer: BBW (Big Beautiful Weirdo)), Jerrod Carmichael
(performance Saturday Night Live and writing for Jerrod Carmichael: Rothaniel),
Julia Garner (Ozark and Inventing Anna), Bill Hader (performance, writing and
directing for Barry and performance for Curb Your Enthusiasm), Steve Martin
(performance and writing for Only Murders in the Building), Amy Poehler (host for
Making It and directing for Lucy and Desi), Rhea Seehorn (Better Call Saul and
Cooper’s Bar), Harriet Walter (Ted Lasso and Succession) and Zendaya
(performance and music and lyrics for Euphoria).

The nominations rosters may be revised in cases where names or titles are
incorrect or appeals for changes—including the addition or removal of names—are
approved by the Television Academy’s Emmy Awards Committee. Producer
eligibility is based primarily on title; the producer nominees in certain program
categories will be announced by mid-August and may increase the number of
multiple nominees. Final-round online voting begins August 12, 2022.

The complete list of Emmy nominations, as compiled by the independent accounting
firm of Ernst & Young LLP, and other Academy news are available at Emmys.com.
The 74th Emmy Awards will be broadcast live from the Microsoft Theater on
Monday, September 12 (8:00-11:00 PM EDT/5:00-8:00 PM PDT) on NBC and
will stream live for the first time on Peacock. The 2022 Creative Arts Emmy Awards
will take place at the Microsoft Theater over two consecutive nights on Saturday,
September 3, and Sunday, September 4. An edited presentation will be aired
Saturday, September 10, at 8:00 PM EDT/PDT on FXX.

The Television Academy strives to shape and advance the dynamic television
landscape, advocating for the television industry as it expands the horizons of
television excellence. Through its innovative programs, publications and events, the
Academy and its Foundation foster, empower and connect the diverse community
of storytellers fueling the medium while celebrating industry excellence and
recognizing achievement through awards and accolades, including the coveted
Emmy® Award, the Hall of Fame and Television Academy Honors. For more
information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com.

Related post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *